Want to be Glam with a Sweet Edge?…Pink Hair

By now EVERYONE knows about the pink hair trend…quickly turning into the ‘pastel hair’ trend.  It began, as all good trends begin, with a brave view ladies and gents who loved standing out and making a splash.  I applaud this and, of course, so did many others which is how people came to emulate the look everywhere from photoshoots to the runway to the red carpet!

The most notable pink-haired lady of the moment has to be the model Charlotte Free shown in the first picture above.  Designers and photographers love her for her individual spirit, spunk and verve.  She began as a more niche model with a punk edge but has risen to become the new face (with 3 other fantastic girls) of Maybelline as leaked by the lovely and chatty P’trique here: Top Chicret video

You know Pink is really in when you see actresses and performers wearing it on the red carpet which has become a great place to try things and really stand out thanks to the likes of Cher, Lady Gaga and Bjork.  Elisabeth Olsen above for Bullett Magazine looks ethereal and glowing with her textured bob and Rachel McAdams is rocking the pastel streaks in a girlish do as well.  Ellen Von Unwerth put her model for ‘Do Not Disturb’ in a Bardot-esque pink wig which looks lush and glam!

I’m tempted to try the old dip-dye myself…but if I loose my nerve I could always pick up a wig like the one Scarlett wears in Lost in Translation.  Chic!

Ruby x

 

PS:  Readers, if you want to get your own pink do, I recommend Rockalily Cuts or Tommy Guns (www.tommyguns.com) in soho/shoreditch.  I’ve heard great things and I’m sure they’d do you right!

